Launching apps remotely

17 posts
by Newt_Othis » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:41 pm
This is a fairly nooby question.

If I SSH into the RasPi (connected to the TV) from my laptop, can I launch a process so that it's visible on the TV?

For example, can I launch the excellent omxplayer to play a video on the TV, by issuing a command from the laptop via SSH?

BTW - I've been using Ubuntu on my laptop for ages, but am a complete novice at using Linux over a network.
by godFather89 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:43 pm
Yes you can. Actually everything you start that is not designed to run in the console will start on the real screen.
by grumpyoldgit » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:47 pm
I have found that the easiest way to have a remote desktop is to install tight vnc server on the Pi.

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install tightvncserver

So ....

You would sit at your laptop
ssh into your Pi
Run tightvncserver on your pi.

Then run VNC client on your laptop and attach to the Pi.

I'm actually sat here having just done that with the new Debian install.
by rurwin » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:57 pm
If you are just running SSH, ie a terminal session, then any graphical programs you run will be displayed on the TV. If you run an X server on your laptop, like Ximg, then starting graphical programs will make them come up on the laptop. You can change that by passing the --display flag to the command.

Code: Select all
$ xeyes --display :0
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
by Newt_Othis » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:01 pm
Thanks, as soon as I get the wireless working I'll try it out ;)
by jojopi » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:25 pm
rurwin wrote:$ xeyes --display :0
It is actually "xeyes -display :0", or "DISPLAY=:0 xeyes". X predates the GNU double-minus option style.
by TrevorAppleton » Thu Jun 21, 2012 7:50 am