Hasty noob in Arch Linux trouble

4 posts
by DJ_OJ_1980 » Thu Jul 05, 2012 6:50 pm
I set up my Pi yesterday with Debian using Element 14's "Getting Started" document, everything went smoothly.

As an absolute noob, I started following the training videos at:
http://www.element14.com/community/docs ... ing-videos

Having followed tutorials 1&2 on my laptop, I figured that tutorial 2 could be done directly on the Pi.

Realising I didn't have virtual box (and so no access to Linux Additions), I decided to skip that part and go on to installing Synaptic.

On opening aptitude and pressing 'g' to install Synaptic, I had a message advising that I wasn't logged in as a root user - I was logged in as the standard 'pi' user.

A bit of Googling led me to conclude that I needed to download ARCH Linux ARM - I unzipped this and copied the image to my SD Card (Already containing the Debian software) using Win32DiskManager. I then put the card back in the Pi and booted up.

I was presented with a command screen with:
"Arch Linux 3.1.9-20-ARCH+ (tty1)

alarmpi login:"

I was unable to login as 'Pi' but the 'root' login worked fine. However, when I type 'startx' to get to the main screen I see "-bash: sudo:command not found"

I'm not sure what to do next. Can anyone spot my obvious mistake(s)??

Many thanks

Owain
by Super-Nathan » Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:59 pm
You have made no mistakes, other than being hasty.

Arch linux is a distribution aimed at users who know what they want and are willing to build it from the console up. It does not come with a GUI by default you have to choose and install your own. startx did exactly what it is supposed to do, nothing. because the fresh image does not have any installed.

You have 2 options:

1) switch back to the Debian Image. Debian has tons of pre-installed software and is relativly easy for new users.