Getting to GUI?

8 posts
by exchaoordo » Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:41 pm
I've downloaded and booted the Debian Squeeze install from Raspberry Pi's site.
What do I now run to get to a desktop like Gnome or Xwindows, a GUI?
I see that there is X session and similar stuff. I tried various ones but no luck.

I am VERY new to this.
by felix123 » Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:57 pm
startx
by Super-Nathan » Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:23 am
Code: Select all
startx

This will get you into LXDE. LXDE is a lightweight window manager better suited to low power processors like the PI. Gnome would probably be very very slow.

If you don't like having to type start x, you can install a desktop manager. LXDE's is called LXDM. This would give you a graphical login screen, but it would take more system resources and be slower. I have not checked if it is in the repositories as i am running arch. If you want to try installing it from the command line type

sudo aptitude install lxdm

Another good choice would be SLiM as it is very lightweight. however it is a little harder to configure.

here is a great how-to http://rustyshacklefordslibrarycard.wordpress.com/2010/03/12/slim-in-debian-squeeze/
echo "Something Useful" > /dev/null
by exchaoordo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:52 pm
Thanks to all for the help. I got a GUI with startx. It is very slow and a bit blurry (indeed my text is blurry too on an old samsung syncmaster 150mp monitor through the RCA jack, but I'll work on it). :D
by ibrahimansari » Sat Aug 16, 2014 8:43 am
Run
startx
This will start LXDE, the default desktop environment.It's that easy ;) !If you don't like to do that every time, then run
sudo apt-get install lightdm
This should install the lightdm display manager. Now configure it with
sudo dpkg-reconfigure lightdm