On/Off Switch

30 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by spamurai » Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:20 pm
Hello.

As some of you know, I'm a newbie to this stuff but I've been having an interesting read of:
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=8820&p=104473

I was wondering if its beneficial to have an on/off switch because its going to get tedious to keep pulling out the plug :shock: and i'm not keen on leaving it on 24/7...

Is there something like this that could act as an on/off switch:
this (1)

If the above example (which is the only one i can find) was used, you'd also need: (2)
this (2)

Then you'd plug the switch (1) into the Pi and plug the convertor (2) into the switch, then plug the power cable into the converter... Then just use the switch to cut off the power instead of the wall socket/plug. (mines in a awkward place behind my desk).

The question is, does that on/off switch act as on/off power or on/off syncing for phones???

I can't help but think if there was an answer to this, someone would already have found it :lol:

Thoughts?
There are 10 types of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't!
01101000 01100001 01101000 01100001
by grumpyoldgit » Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:24 pm
There's this thing called a four/six gang extension. They are usually about £4.99 and are found in a big bin at B&Q or similar. I always pick the ones with individual switches.
by spamurai » Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:28 pm
grumpyoldgit wrote:There's this thing called a four/six gang extension. They are usually about £4.99 and are found in a big bin at B&Q or similar. I always pick the ones with individual switches.

Its mainly because my Pi is powered from a four gang extension which i can not get to with ease (behind desk) and even if i could, that would then turn off the power to the other things i have plugged into it.
Also, i don't want to keep unplugging the microusb as it seems pretty delicate and i believe a few people have already broken the c6 near by :|