Automatic setup for RTL8188CUS based wifi adapters


 
1148 posts   Page 1 of 46   1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 46
by MrEngman » Mon May 21, 2012 6:06 am
I have produced a script to allow automatic installation of the drivers for Realtek RTL8188CUS based wifi adapters and a document giving instructions on how to use it. The script is rather crude but does the job pretty well I think.

All you have to do is edit the script to add your own SSID and PASSWORD and then run a single command. The rest is done automatically by the script. Very simple and it only takes a couple of minutes to get the Pi up and running with wifi.

I use a Micronet Wireless LAN USB Adapter Model No: SP907NS which uses the Realtek RTL8188CUS device.

Wifi adapters I've found using this chip are:

050d:1102 F7D1102 N150/Surf Micro Wireless Adapter v1000 [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (Belkin Components)
06f8:e033 Hercules HWNUp-150 802.11n Wireless N Pico [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (Guillemot Corp.)
0846:9041 WNA1000M 802.11bgn [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (NetGear, Inc.)
0bda:8176 RTL8188CUS 802.11n WLAN Adapter - (Realtek Semiconductor Corp.)
2001:3308 DWA-121 802.11n Wireless N 150 Pico Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (D-Link Corp.)
2019:ab2a GW-USNano2 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (PLANEX)
2019:ed17 GW-USValue-EZ 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (PLANEX)
20f4:648b TEW-648UBM 802.11n 150Mbps Micro Wireless N Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (TRENDnet)
7392:7811 EW-7811Un 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS] - (Edimax Technology Co., Ltd)

I have only tried it with my device which work a treate. Don't know if it will work with any other ones but I don't see why it shouldn't.

The instructions are available at: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/80256631/install-rtl8188cus.txt

and the script at http://dl.dropbox.com/u/80256631/install-rtl8188cus.sh

The nice thing about this installation is that you do not need an internet connection to your Pi to install the wifi drivers. So you can forget about having to use a network wired cable.

However, after the driver is loaded the script continues on and loads some updates via the wifi, the additional updates are for DHCP and rpi-update by Hexxeh. rpi-update is used to automatically update the Pi's firmware and software.

If you try it let me know how you get on and which wifi adapter you are using.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by MrEngman » Tue May 22, 2012 9:01 am
I have just uploaded a modified script to Dropbox.

Now there is no need to modify any files before copying them to the Pi and installing your Wifi. Just copy the files to the SD card, plug in your Pi and run the script to install your Realtek RTL8188CUS based wifi adapter.

The instructions can be downloaded from: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/80256631/install-rtl8188cus.txt
and the script itself from: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/80256631/install-rtl8188cus.sh

Have fun with your Raspberry Pi.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by ScoobyDoo » Tue May 22, 2012 9:27 am
Excellent work, will make setting up Wi-fi for 8188CUS users a doddle.
The script makes it very very easy to install.
User avatar
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:52 pm
Location: Staffordshire, UK
by MrEngman » Tue May 22, 2012 9:38 am
ScoobyDoo wrote:Excellent work, will make setting up Wi-fi for 8188CUS users a doddle.
The script makes it very very easy to install.


I really hope so :)
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by Nb8k » Tue May 22, 2012 10:05 pm
Should this work in arch and Debian?

Edit: having looked at the script, looks like Debian only.
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 8:34 pm
by MrEngman » Tue May 22, 2012 10:35 pm
Nb8k wrote:Should this work in arch and Debian?

Edit: having looked at the script, looks like Debian only.


Debian only I'm afraid for the moment. I have taken a look at Arch today and was pleasantly surprised to find I could run Arch with the wifi adapter plugged in and use "lsusb" and see the rtl8188cus device. If the wifi is plugged into a Pi with Debian it usually/always hangs if the driver is not installed.

I want to try and find out why that happens and maybe on the way I will be able to generate a script for Arch - but, please, don't hold you breath waiting ;)
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by Nb8k » Wed May 23, 2012 7:40 pm
I did try to follow some Arch tutorials for this adapter but so far no joy. With Debian was pretty straight forward.
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 8:34 pm
by MrEngman » Wed May 23, 2012 9:18 pm
Nb8k wrote:I did try to follow some Arch tutorials for this adapter but so far no joy. With Debian was pretty straight forward.


I've taken a look around at various Arch sites today as well and no luck so far for me. Some folks have been able to get the RTL8188CUS running on newer versions than available from the download page by recompiling code and/or drivers. That's not what I'm looking for and I don't remember how to do that anyway, it's been 20yrs or so since I used Linux seriously and I'm finding it pretty difficult getting back into it. I'm far more used to coding for the Zilog Z180 in assembly language.

My aim is to to find something even the absolute Absolute Beginner, especially with Linux, can understand and use.

I'm quite pleased with my solution for Debian. Download the instructions and script from Dropbox, download the wifi driver and firmware as per the instructions then copy the files to the SD card, plug it into the Pi and power on, login and run one command to start the script to get the wifi going. Couldn't be much simpler. ;)

Hopefully anyone else using it will find it just as easy.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by victagayun » Thu May 24, 2012 5:40 am
i have tried this on vmware but it loops around that it cannot find the network..
i have another debian vmware and installed network-manager for gnome and kde and my usb wifi (micronext) is working...
of course i installed with NAT enabled and once installed i removed it and use usb wifi..
is it possible to combine the network-manager for both kde and gnome and its dependents in one folder and install it instead?
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:01 pm
by MrEngman » Thu May 24, 2012 10:30 am
Hi Victagayun,

Sorry but I can't help here.

I have some very, very limited experience with VirtualBox using this installation for RaspberryPi on a Windows 7 system and had problems using NAT. Changed to Bridged mode and it fixed the problem. It was an issue to do with network packet corruption when using NAT within Windows 7 as far as I remember. But I was essentially sharing the wireless network connection between Windows 7 and VirtualBox.

I don't expect that's anything to do with your issue so sorry I couldn't give you anything useful to help. I'm still a beginner if not an AB and still stuggling to come to terms with Linux.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by victagayun » Thu May 24, 2012 2:54 pm
MrEngman wrote:Hi Victagayun,

Sorry but I can't help here.

I have some very, very limited experience with VirtualBox using this installation for RaspberryPi on a Windows 7 system and had problems using NAT. Changed to Bridged mode and it fixed the problem. It was an issue to do with network packet corruption when using NAT within Windows 7 as far as I remember. But I was essentially sharing the wireless network connection between Windows 7 and VirtualBox.

I don't expect that's anything to do with your issue so sorry I couldn't give you anything useful to help. I'm still a beginner if not an AB and still stuggling to come to terms with Linux.


Hello Engman,

Have you tried network-manager? this is similar to windows gui which can be found on the lower left corner of the screen. by the way, i still dont have the raspi to test and all i can do is simulate first on vmware without interconnection, all i have here are usb broadband with hotspot capability (huawei E5830) and the usb wifi. in this case, i cannot connect to the internet initially and i dont have lan crosscable either.
i have tried installing all the deb files individually but have many dependent files that need to be installed first and i have noticed that i cannot use this strategy on raspi becoz the files are not for ARM.
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:01 pm
by MrEngman » Thu May 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Hi Victagayun,

The problem I found with NAT was a known problem with Windows 7 as far as I know. Not sure if it's been fixed or not though.

As far as my setup is concerned you need a real Raspberry Pi as the driver is for an ARM. It is annoying isn't it but guess you'll just have to wait for your Pi to arrive.

There are plenty of others looking at virtual systems at the moment so you might find more help by searching around the forums.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by alexeames » Thu May 24, 2012 5:27 pm
I've just ordered one of these http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASI ... os_product to try. Apparently it has the same RTL8188CUS chipset as yours. WIll probably try your script with it to see if it works.
My Pi uses 2 watts - what what? ---- HiRes early production Pi photos RS Front Back | Farnell Front Back
User avatar
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by Defying » Fri May 25, 2012 6:40 pm
Thanks! Worked perfectly on my AirLink101 AWLL5088. :)
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 6:39 pm
by MrEngman » Fri May 25, 2012 8:53 pm
Defying wrote:Thanks! Worked perfectly on my AirLink101 AWLL5088. :)


That's really so good to hear. Thanks very much for letting me know.

Enjoy you Raspberry Pi.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by rahduke » Fri May 25, 2012 11:56 pm
do you think this script would work with RASPBMC?
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:56 pm
by Defying » Sat May 26, 2012 1:26 am
rahduke wrote:do you think this script would work with RASPBMC?

I tried that. It did not work.

OP, can you create a script for the latest beta of RaspBMC?
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 6:39 pm
by rahduke » Sat May 26, 2012 1:34 am
yea I just tried it too :cry: :cry: no good. OP if you can make this work for raspbmc it would be amazing!
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:56 pm
by victagayun » Sat May 26, 2012 6:44 am
maybe anyone can download network-manager for offline installation or better yet install network-manager in the next release of the pi, also include some remote desktop for those who will run it without monitor.
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:01 pm
by MrEngman » Sat May 26, 2012 10:20 am
Hi Guys,

For all of you looking at RaspBMC. I think first someone will probably need to find a driver compiled for RaspBMC. I don't have the knowledge to do that.

One thing I've noticed is you need a wired connection to get RaspBMC installed, what a pain! My script for the Debian release will get your wifi up and running with no network connection to start with, although you do need some system with a network connection to grab hold of the wifi driver files needed.

Any way I will hunt out a network cable and see what RaspBMC looks like and see what I can do but don't hold your breath.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by MrEngman » Sat May 26, 2012 3:00 pm
Defying wrote:
rahduke wrote:do you think this script would work with RASPBMC?

I tried that. It did not work.

OP, can you create a script for the latest beta of RaspBMC?


I've been looking at RaspBMC but it is causing me a load of grief at the moment. I cannot get to the basic terminal window - well I can but it is blank - no text is being output to the screen. Apparently a known problem.

When I can get a terminal working I will take a look.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
by texy » Sat May 26, 2012 5:40 pm
alexeames wrote:I've just ordered one of these http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASI ... os_product to try. Apparently it has the same RTL8188CUS chipset as yours. WIll probably try your script with it to see if it works.


Its on the list of post#1, so lets hope it does work - please report back when you get to try it.

Texy
"2.8inch TFT LCD + Touch screen" add-on boards for sale here :
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=65566
50p goes to the Foundation ;-)
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2210
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:59 am
Location: Berkshire, England
by Defying » Sat May 26, 2012 7:01 pm
MrEngman wrote:
Defying wrote:
rahduke wrote:do you think this script would work with RASPBMC?

I tried that. It did not work.

OP, can you create a script for the latest beta of RaspBMC?


I've been looking at RaspBMC but it is causing me a load of grief at the moment. I cannot get to the basic terminal window - well I can but it is blank - no text is being output to the screen. Apparently a known problem.

When I can get a terminal working I will take a look.

You can SSH into the Pi. Grab the IP of it with Advanced IP Scanner and use PuTTY to connect. That's how I tried installing the script of RaspBMC.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 6:39 pm
by alexeames » Sat May 26, 2012 7:41 pm
texy wrote:
alexeames wrote:I've just ordered one of these http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASI ... os_product to try. Apparently it has the same RTL8188CUS chipset as yours. WIll probably try your script with it to see if it works.


Its on the list of post#1, so lets hope it does work - please report back when you get to try it.

Texy


Will do. Was hoping it might arrive today, but no. When it does, I'll try this and let you know. :D
My Pi uses 2 watts - what what? ---- HiRes early production Pi photos RS Front Back | Farnell Front Back
User avatar
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by texy » Sat May 26, 2012 8:35 pm
Cheers! I got impatient and ordered one anyway. If it doesn't work with the pi I can use it with my desktop.
Texy
"2.8inch TFT LCD + Touch screen" add-on boards for sale here :
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=65566
50p goes to the Foundation ;-)
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2210
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:59 am
Location: Berkshire, England