Setting up HDMI output


306 posts   Page 7 of 13   1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 13
by ivangrid » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:30 am
Deard, does RPi support resolution of 2560x1440? Works?
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:25 am
by JeremyF » Tue Oct 16, 2012 8:32 pm
ivangrid wrote:Deard, does RPi support resolution of 2560x1440? Works?

We definitely support 1920x1440 (4:3), 2560x1600 (16:10), and 2048x1152 (16:9). Not sure about 2560x1440 though.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by dom » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:12 pm
ericfrey wrote:None of the various combinations of tweaks I've used have changed the lack of signal that the monitor says is present. Is it possible there is an issue with the hardware? Maybe the HDMI jack is faulty? I see no visible damage there. Any input on the issue would be much appreciated. Thanks.


Make sure display is powered on and with correct input selected before you power the Pi.
config_hdmi_boost=7
is the only other setting to try.
If noy, then it suggests a hardware problem with TV, cable or Pi.
Do you know someone with a Pi you can swap with your to see if it can drive with your cable/TV?
Otherwise try swapping cables and try on any other HDMI display you can.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 3992
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by ericfrey » Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:31 pm
Thanks, dom. I've tried swapping out different computers to the monitor, and the monitor and cables work. I've also tried hooking up the pi to other HDMI tvs with no luck. The only thing I don't think I've tried is bumping up the hdmi boost like you say, so I'll try that later on today. Thanks for the reply. ;)
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:32 pm
by ericfrey » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:37 pm
Well, I've set the hdmi boost to 7, still no dice. I am using the Raspbian Wheezy OS on the SD card. Would it be worth trying Arch Linux, or does all of the HDMI output stuff happen the same regardless of OS?
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:32 pm
by dom » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:55 pm
wigjohn wrote:But sometimes it boots up on the composite op, and sometimes on the HDMI op. I would like it to boot up on the HDMI o/p. can I change something on the Pi, or is it this silly tv I'm using?
Next question :roll: , when it does boot up on the HDMI o/p the text is too small. Can this be changed?
Don't go all geeky on me, must have simple steps :?
If someone has already posted a reply, for my problems, and you can direct me to the best place to retrieve the info I require, I will be a happy man :D .
Thanks in advance for you helpful replies.


The Pi uses the HDMI hotplug signal to detect whether a HDMI is attached. If it is not detected then it falls back to composite.
Most TVs assert the HDMI hotplug signal all the time, but some only do when the TV is powered up and on the correct input channel.
Is it possible you get HDMI output when the TV was already on or on the correct input channel, and composite when that is not the case?

So, first solution is to turn on the TV before the Pi.
If you never use composite, then you can edit the config.txt file, and add
Code: Select all
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

You can do that from the Pi with:
Code: Select all
sudo nano /boot/config.txt

or you can insert the sdcard into a PC and you should see the config.txt file there.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 3992
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by abishur » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:56 pm
ericfrey wrote:Well, I've set the hdmi boost to 7, still no dice. I am using the Raspbian Wheezy OS on the SD card. Would it be worth trying Arch Linux, or does all of the HDMI output stuff happen the same regardless of OS?


The HDMI output is controlled in the config.txt file and somewhat independent of the OS.

Would you be willing to post your config.txt file here?
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4262
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by ericfrey » Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:11 pm
abishur wrote:
ericfrey wrote:Well, I've set the hdmi boost to 7, still no dice. I am using the Raspbian Wheezy OS on the SD card. Would it be worth trying Arch Linux, or does all of the HDMI output stuff happen the same regardless of OS?


The HDMI output is controlled in the config.txt file and somewhat independent of the OS.

Would you be willing to post your config.txt file here?


At present the config.txt file looks like this:
Code: Select all
hdmi_safe=1

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

hdmi_group=2

hdmi_mode=47

hdmi_drive=2

config_hdmi_boost=7


I'm not familiar with Arch Linux, so I wasn't sure if the files would be the same or not. Thanks again for the help.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:32 pm
by abishur » Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:58 pm
ericfrey wrote:
At present the config.txt file looks like this:
Code: Select all
hdmi_safe=1

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

hdmi_group=2

hdmi_mode=47

hdmi_drive=2

config_hdmi_boost=7


I'm not familiar with Arch Linux, so I wasn't sure if the files would be the same or not. Thanks again for the help.


Out of curiosity, how did you decide on hdmi_mode=47 and hdmi_group=2?

If you comment out hdmi_group, _mode and _drive, does it work?
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4262
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by ericfrey » Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:04 pm
I got the hdmi group and mode from the list at http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt . I figured I'd try that since my monitor's native resolution is 1440x900. I can't remember why I tried the hdmi_drive=2. I'll try commenting those out and see how that works. I do remember that the hdmi_drive=2 is one of the last tweaks I added. I think I had seen a thread where someone with a similar problem solved it with that line, but I'm not positive.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:32 pm
by remotevisitor » Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:53 pm
Trying to get my Dell 2408WFP working at 1900x1200 with no success - the pi insists on booting with 1280x720

Tried editing the /boot/config.txt with the lines
Code: Select all
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=68
hdmi_drive=1

to tell the pi that it is DVI monitor with 1900x1200.

Also tried adding a "hdmi-force_hotplug=1" for good measure. Nothing has made any difference.

The output from edidparser of the attached edid.dat is:
Code: Select all
Parsing edid.dat...
HDMI:EDID version 1.3, 32 extensions, screen size 52x32 cm
HDMI:EDID features - videodef 0x80 standby suspend active off; colour encoding:RGB444|YCbCr422; sRGB is not default colourspace; preferred format is native; does not support GTF
HDMI:EDID found monitor S/N descriptor tag 0xff
HDMI:EDID found monitor name descriptor tag 0xfc
HDMI:EDID monitor name is DELL_2408WFP
HDMI:EDID found monitor range descriptor tag 0xfd
HDMI:EDID monitor range offsets: V min=0, V max=0, H min=0, H max=0
HDMI:EDID monitor range: vertical is 56-76 Hz, horizontal is 30-83 kHz, max pixel clock is 170 MHz
HDMI:EDID monitor range does not support GTF
HDMI:EDID found preferred DMT detail timing format: 1920x1200p @ 60 Hz (68)
HDMI:EDID established timing I/II bytes are A5 4B 00
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 4, 640x480p @ 60 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 6, 640x480p @ 75 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 9, 800x600p @ 60 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 11, 800x600p @ 75 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 16, 1024x768p @ 60 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 18, 1024x768p @ 75 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 36, 1280x1024p @ 75 Hz in established timing I/II
HDMI:EDID standard timings block x 8: 0x8180 A940 714F 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 35, 1280x1024p @ 60 Hz (5:4) in standard timing 0
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 51, 1600x1200p @ 60 Hz (4:3) in standard timing 1
HDMI:EDID found DMT format: code 21, 1152x864p @ 75 Hz (4:3) in standard timing 2
HDMI:EDID skipping over manufacturer extension tag 0xff
edid_parser exited with code -1

As can be seen from the last line it appears that the edid parser does not like the edid data for some reason as the analysis stage is not performed because it exited with the error code -1.

Any suggestions on what to try next?
Attachments
edid.zip
(231 Bytes) Downloaded 177 times
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:35 pm
by itimpi » Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:27 am
You might want to try
Code: Select all
hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080

(as dcoumented at http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt#Video_ ... figuration) in the config.txt file as there seems to be a problem with getting the value from the monitor. I cannot see the 19201200 option listed in those that were successfully read which probably explains your issue? Also have tou tried mode 69?
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
by kovacsakos » Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:56 pm
My PI: kovacs.dlinkddns.com/phpsysinfo
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Lesencetomaj
by JeremyF » Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:50 pm
kovacsakos wrote:Is this cable good for use: http://www.amazon.com/eForCity-HDMI-VGA ... +converter ?

No, that is a passive cable; it will not work.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by kovacsakos » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:24 am
JeremyF wrote:
kovacsakos wrote:Is this cable good for use: http://www.amazon.com/eForCity-HDMI-VGA ... +converter ?

No, that is a passive cable; it will not work.


So which cable would be good? Can you show me one please?
My PI: kovacs.dlinkddns.com/phpsysinfo
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Lesencetomaj
by ericfrey » Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:08 pm
abishur wrote:
ericfrey wrote:
At present the config.txt file looks like this:
Code: Select all
hdmi_safe=1

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

hdmi_group=2

hdmi_mode=47

hdmi_drive=2

config_hdmi_boost=7


I'm not familiar with Arch Linux, so I wasn't sure if the files would be the same or not. Thanks again for the help.


Out of curiosity, how did you decide on hdmi_mode=47 and hdmi_group=2?

If you comment out hdmi_group, _mode and _drive, does it work?


I commented out group, mode, and drive. Still no luck. I'm going to set up on composite for now. None of the projects I had in mind necessarily need the higher definition output, and I'm itching to have fun.
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:32 pm
by rpdom » Tue Oct 23, 2012 3:48 pm
Just for info. I've finally had success with my Dell 17" monitor and HDMI-DVI cable.

I used an x86 PC running Debian with a DVI-D video output and extracted the EDID info from the Xorg log. Saving that data as /boot/edid.dat and setting my config.txt to:
Code: Select all
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_edid_file=1


Results in the correct resolution of 1280x1024@60 being used.
Code: Select all
./tvservice -s
state: HPD high|DVI mode|HDCP off|composite off (0x120016), 1280x1024 @ 60Hz, progressive


and tvservice -m DMT reports:
Code: Select all
Group DMT has 9 modes:
           mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 6: 640x480 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 11: 800x600 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 18: 1024x768 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 21: 1152x864 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 35: 1280x1024 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 36: 1280x1024 @ 75Hz, progressive


I do find it a bit odd that when I tried
Code: Select all
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=35


it resulted in the monitor reporting "out of range" though.

Yay!
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Essex, UK
by dom » Tue Oct 23, 2012 4:10 pm
remotevisitor wrote:Trying to get my Dell 2408WFP working at 1900x1200 with no success - the pi insists on booting with 1280x720

Seems the "manufacturer extension" block is confusing our edid parser. It's in our bug tracking system. I'll let you knwo when we have a fix.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 3992
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by remotevisitor » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:02 pm
Thanks for logging the defect, and I hopefully look forward for a fix. :-)
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:35 pm
by dom » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:38 pm
remotevisitor wrote:Trying to get my Dell 2408WFP working at 1900x1200 with no success - the pi insists on booting with 1280x720
Any suggestions on what to try next?


A fix has been pushed out available through rpi-update.

Note: the edid in your monitor is broken.
Code: Select all
HDMI:EDID version 1.3, 32 extensions, screen size 52x32 cm

It doesn't have 32 extension blocks (no monitor does). The extensions blocks are just full of 0xff bytes.

However, the update means we parse what we can, and don't treat it as no edid. That does mean you should get 1920x1200.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 3992
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by remotevisitor » Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:22 pm
Updated and the fix works fine .... Now auto-detecting my monitor's capabilities correctly.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:35 pm
by Ramesh » Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:01 am
Hi,
I am using LG 22" TFT monitor via DVI 24+1 connector with Raspberry PI model-B
Below is my config.txt and even I changed some settings as posted in some of forum threads.
But I am not able to view anything on monitor,I can see only "CHECK SIGNAL CABLE"

Please help me to solve this issue.

# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
#config_hdmi_boost=4

# uncomment for composite PAL
#sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
#arm_freq=800

# for more options see http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt



Thanks in advance,
Ramesh
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:17 am
by chuckellis1 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:28 pm
I'm very new to Raspberry Pi and I don't know if this is what is happening, but in my case, my screen would show "no signal" because I had a usb keyboard and mouse plugged in. When I left the usb unplugged at power up there was script on the monitor. I then plugged the keyboard in, set up the keyboard, locale, etc., rebooted and then the monitor worked fine. I have an Acer widescreen monitor (I think it's 22 inch) with an HDMI to DVI connection.

Hope this helps.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:23 pm
by dom » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:22 pm
Ramesh wrote:Hi,
I am using LG 22" TFT monitor via DVI 24+1 connector with Raspberry PI model-B
Below is my config.txt and even I changed some settings as posted in some of forum threads.
But I am not able to view anything on monitor,I can see only "CHECK SIGNAL CABLE"

Please help me to solve this issue.

If hdmi_safe doesn't work, then there's almost certainly a physical problem, with the pi, the monitor, the cable, or the adaptor.

Not quite sure what the DVI 24+1 connector you are using is. Make sure it is a DVI-D cable (digital, rather than analogue DVI-A).
The usual way of diagnosing this is the "swap test". You need to swap one component at a time, e.g. cable, display, Pi board and see which one is causing the problem.
(Obviously it helps if you know someone with a working Pi).
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 3992
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by dfrimmel » Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:06 am
I was using openelec and today installed weezy, read almost complete thread and did not find out how to display picture from Rpi to full screen 1920x1080 at 60Hz via HDMI? Where and what do I have to change?Thanks
4 months for 256MB RPi ...
maybe 8 months for 128MB RPi who knows...
Thanks RS.
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:31 am