Please use this Forum for Absolute beginners subjects

38 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by Gert van Loo » Wed May 09, 2012 4:56 pm
I appreciate that 'beginner' is a relative term so is 'Absolute beginner'. However I see subjects posted here which are far from 'beginners' issue like 'How to compile the kernel.' 'Assembly code' etc. In fact in my opinion a lot of posts here are beyond absolute beginners.  It is not so much that I mind them being in the wrong place but more that it will scare off real absolute beginners, from whch we will see many more in the coming weeks now the boards are distributed in the thousands.

I will also discuss with my fellow admins to move posts around more to forums which are more relevant.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
by Steady_Bear » Wed May 09, 2012 10:36 pm
Please can I take the chance to recommend a kernel specific section (under another section would be fine, but specifically pulled away from userspace software issues).

Kernels, although may be fun for some people (and should be tried by all ;) ), are likely to start people running a mile in the other direction - worrying when average Jo[e] would never need poke about with the kernel.

So, if all that technical babble® is out of sight of the average, even intermediate, user it should help.

Just my tuppence.
by mahjongg » Thu May 10, 2012 12:57 am
in this early stage, I suppose that "absolute beginners" means something different  than it will six months from now.
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
by EarthlyPangaea » Sun May 13, 2012 12:59 am
A separate place for questions such as "I'm trying to compile 'x' software and I'm getting error 'y'" would be really handy. I'm hitting that kind of error lately. I'm familiar with the basics of how to use Debian. However I'm out of my depth after that because when making source gives me errors I have no idea how to deal with them.
by mertonn » Mon May 21, 2012 1:48 pm
OK