Setup Logmein Hamachi for SSH access behind firewalls, etc.


75 posts   Page 2 of 3   1, 2, 3
by trekrich » Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:06 pm
I found this topic from a google search. Maybe i should not be lazy and search the forum!
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:12 pm
by romprod » Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:06 pm
danhamilt1 wrote:
trekrich wrote:Hello,

Thanks for the info but i have a problem! The version mentioned at the start of the post is no longer on the server to download. I have tried downloading the current version and i get this error message when i try to install it.

root@raspberrypi:~# sudo dpkg -i logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.68-1_armel.deb
dpkg: error processing logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.68-1_armel.deb (--install):
package architecture (armel) does not match system (armhf)
Errors were encountered while processing:
logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.68-1_armel.deb

I am guessing that logmein have changed the requirements for the arm version of their software. Does anyone have the logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.18-1_armel.deb that they could send me please? I dont mind giving out skype details so that i can be sent over.

Thanks for all your help!

Richard


Hi Richard, have you tried the instructions left by locaded a few posts back?

This mentions about the new wheezy image and armhl problems.


At a guess you guys are using the "Raspbian Wheezy" image instead of the "Soft-float Debian Wheezy" As the error message says you are mixing two different architectures "armel" and "armhf" which is the hard-float arm version and you need the soft-float version "armel" image on your rpi to be able to use the Hamachi armel.deb file.

btw this worked for me
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
wget https://secure.logmein.com/labs/logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.68-1_armel.deb
sudo dpkg -i logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.68-1_armel.deb
sudo apt-get -f install
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:31 pm
by radix69 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:35 pm
Hello guys,thanks for this amazing topic.
I have done almost everything except one thing - the final SSHing to my raspi. I've done all previous steps successfully but I can't SSH to my raspi.
What IP address should I write into "Host Name (or IP address)" selection of Putty ?? and what about port ?? is 22 ok ?? I'm a little bit lost about this final step... thanks
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:02 am
by danhamilt1 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:39 pm
Host name should be the IP of the Raspberry Pi that Hamachi has given it, and yes port 22
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:32 am
by radix69 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:49 pm
okay so if I type to the terminal
sudo hamachi, the stated IP address (5.xxx.xx.xxx) is the address I should type into Putty ?
because If I'll do it, nothing happens,putty is pending or what
what could I do wrong ?
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:02 am
by danhamilt1 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:53 pm
To clarify, you have Hamachi installed on the machine you are accessing the Raspberry Pi off as well? You can see the pi on this machine through the Hamachi Client with a green light?
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:32 am
by radix69 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:06 pm
-when I log in to my logmein.com account and click on my networks, I can see the raspi machine as connected with green dot
-I do have installed logmein on my laptop as well, but on the top right corner is stated No remote users are connected
-when I type sudo hamachi status is logged in
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:02 am
by danhamilt1 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:11 pm
radix69 wrote:-when I log in to my logmein.com account and click on my networks, I can see the raspi machine as connected with green dot
-I do have installed logmein on my laptop as well, but on the top right corner is stated No remote users are connected
-when I type sudo hamachi status is logged in


OK, so when you log into your logmein.com account can you see your laptop connected too? They both need to be connected to this network otherwise the laptop won't be able to see the pi. As it says "no remote users connected" this might be the problem.

So you will probably need to log in to hamachi on the laptop, I'm not 100% on the Windows Hamachi interface as I have only ever used it on OS X.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:32 am
by radix69 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:37 pm
This was the problem !!! thanks a lot!! it works,great, you made my day :D thankss :)
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:02 am
by danhamilt1 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:02 am
radix69 wrote:This was the problem !!! thanks a lot!! it works,great, you made my day :D thankss :)


No problem ;)
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:32 am
by HurricaneChris » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:31 am
I have read over this, and I got lsb-core to install, but everytime i try to dpkg hamachi, it tells me i need lsb-core 3.0 even though i already have the most updated version of lsb, any thoughts?
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:29 am
by KennethChristensen » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:00 pm
Managed to install hamachi on the latest hardfloat using --force depend and --ignore-architecture

joined the network, visible on the logmein page and everything wen't fine..

but not able to ping..

rebooted...

ham0 interface disappeared.. so i restarted hamachi daemon, ham0 reappaered but still no ping..

tcpdump shows (when trying to ping other machine with x.x.x.73 ip

tcpdump: listening on ham0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes
19:31:48.768378 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto ICMP (1), length 84)


raspberrypi.local > 5.154.202.73: ICMP echo request, id 3660, seq 1, length 64
19:31:49.774416 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto ICMP (1), length 84)
raspberrypi.local > 5.154.202.73: ICMP echo request, id 3660, seq 2, length 64


anyone got any ideas ? or should i wipe it and install a softfloat debian instead...

Kind regards
Kenneth Christensen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:53 pm
by KennethChristensen » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:03 pm
Managed to install hamachi on the latest hardfloat using --force depend and --ignore-architecture

joined the network, visible on the logmein page and everything wen't fine..

but not able to ping..

rebooted...

ham0 interface disappeared.. so i restarted hamachi daemon, ham0 reappaered but still no ping..

tcpdump shows (when trying to ping other machine with x.x.x.73 ip

tcpdump: listening on ham0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes
19:31:48.768378 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto ICMP (1), length 84)


raspberrypi.local > 5.154.202.73: ICMP echo request, id 3660, seq 1, length 64
19:31:49.774416 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [DF], proto ICMP (1), length 84)
raspberrypi.local > 5.154.202.73: ICMP echo request, id 3660, seq 2, length 64


anyone got any ideas ? or should i wipe it and install a softfloat debian instead...

Kind regards
Kenneth Christensen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:53 pm
by claytonraymond2004 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:12 pm
Anybody have an idea how to set the Pi up as a Gateway with Hamachi? I've tried but can't manage to get it to work. In Hamachi, it just shows the IP as 0.0.0.0.
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:09 pm
by KennethChristensen » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:37 am
My troubles are over...

appearently Hamachi was a bit unstable last night (or my internet was).. after i left it alone it came online by itself and everything is working perfectly now...

;)
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:53 pm
by talkeasy » Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:46 pm
Thanks for the tutorial for getting LogMeIn - works a treat.

I do have a strange issue though. I had X server and vnc server set up to start on boot, but they stopped loading automatically once LogMeIn was installed. They work fine if started manually from the command line.

Any ideas how to get them load on start up again? Thanks.
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 10:57 pm
by danhamilt1 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:38 pm
talkeasy wrote:Thanks for the tutorial for getting LogMeIn - works a treat.

I do have a strange issue though. I had X server and vnc server set up to start on boot, but they stopped loading automatically once LogMeIn was installed. They work fine if started manually from the command line.

Any ideas how to get them load on start up again? Thanks.


for the X11 problem check in your "/etc/inittab" file.

Make sure that the line id:5:initdefault: is uncommented, and make sure that the value in it is 5 and not anything else.

As for the vnc it might be something to do with it not being executable in rc.d have a search around for issues like that.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:32 am
by locaded » Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:00 am
Note that the version has changed:

logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.68-1_armel.deb is now
logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.86-1_armel.deb

(https://secure.logmein.com/labs/#HamachiforLinux)

All the commands again:

Code: Select all
apt-get -y install --fix-missing lsb lsb-core
wget --no-check-certificate https://secure.logmein.com/labs/logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.86-1_armel.deb
dpkg --force-architecture --force-depends -i logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.86-1_armel.deb
rm logmein-hamachi_2.1.0.86-1_armel.deb

/etc/init.d/logmein-hamachi start


to make Hamachi starting on boot, you can use a program like chkconfig:
Code: Select all
apt-get -y install chkconfig
chkconfig -s logmein-hamachi 2


Note also that somehow the tunneling engine can't start when installing under Raspbmc, under Raspbian it works perfectly...
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:11 am
by Garloth » Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:14 pm
When trying (as a root)
hamachi login

I get:
Logging in .... failed

How can i prevent this?
Jan
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:11 pm
by bubuli » Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:55 pm
Unfortunately this build of hamachi breaks wifi as described in this thread :-( viewtopic.php?f=29&t=29952
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:43 pm
by Garloth » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:31 am
But I'm connected by Ethernet...
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:11 pm
by dhearns » Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:08 am
I posted this in the other thread that bubuli mentioned. I'll post here also in hopes that it'll help someone.

I was having this problem with Hamachi and Openvpn. When the ham0 or tun0 adapters are installed my wifi would stop working. Following these instructions fixed it for me:

http://www.boxtricks.com/raspberry-pi-drops-wireless-connect-after-openvpn-is-started/
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:49 am
by dfreder1 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:27 am
Problem here is that "sudo hamachi login" gives "failed error". Any ideas?
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:06 pm
Location: Sacramento, California
by john564 » Sun Apr 28, 2013 12:45 pm
dfreder1 wrote:Problem here is that "sudo hamachi login" gives "failed error". Any ideas?


# TIP: I got error
#
# hamachi login
# Logging in .. failed, busy
#
# workaround
#
# /etc/init.d/logmein-hamachi stop
# /etc/init.d/logmein-hamachi start
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:05 am
by kburkhart » Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:10 pm
Has anyone been successful in resolving the hamachi login error

Logging in ..... failed

Code: Select all
04.29 15:46:26.445 sys: go_online, reconnect 0
04.29 15:46:29.619 ses: resolving hamachi-dc.logmein-gateway.com ..
04.29 15:46:29.624 evl: major lag (14628 ms) !
04.29 15:46:29.627 evl: fd 1, ev 5726 ms, tm 8902 ms
04.29 15:46:29.634 ses: resolving hamachi-list.2.logmein-gateway.com ..
04.29 15:46:29.666 ses: selected (h-app02-05.hamachi.cc, 6557)
04.29 15:46:29.669 ses: selected 01 connection type
04.29 15:46:32.798 ses: resolving h-app02-05.hamachi.cc ..
04.29 15:46:32.803 evl: major lag (3138 ms) !
04.29 15:46:32.808 evl: fd 1, ev 3137 ms, tm 1 ms
04.29 15:46:38.523 ses: connecting to 216.52.233.73:12975 ..
04.29 15:46:38.528 evl: major lag (5662 ms) !
04.29 15:46:38.531 evl: fd 1, ev 5661 ms, tm 1 ms
04.29 15:46:38.558 ses: connection is established
04.29 15:46:41.076 ses: control connection is bound to 10.0.83.31
04.29 15:46:41.080 ses: << msg_helo ..
04.29 15:46:44.245 evl: major lag (5687 ms) !
04.29 15:46:44.881 evl: fd 1, ev 5686 ms, tm 1 ms
04.29 15:46:44.885 ses: io closed
04.29 15:46:44.888 ses: error 3, retryable yes
04.29 15:46:47.425 ses: go_offline, keep_tunnels 0, login_on_relaunch 0, actual state 1 ..
04.29 15:46:51.875 ipc: 0147b570 del client


I'm using the latest version, on the soft-float raspbian and have the LSB and lsb-core installed as well.

Thanks for any help!
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:03 pm