Installing FUSE, the Spectrum emulator. Arch or Debian instructions wanted.


83 posts   Page 2 of 4   1, 2, 3, 4
by alexeames » Sun May 20, 2012 10:14 am
hatman wrote:I don't think you need the version from 27/03/2012, I downloaded the latest version of Arch on Thursday and was able to install FUSE fine using the excellent instructions in this thread. I have been able to introduce my 9 year old son to the delights (and frustrations) of Manic Miner!

Excellent Instructions!


That's good thanks :) Unfortunately I've discovered my Arch problem is an SD card problem, so more cards on order.
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by alexeames » Fri May 25, 2012 11:57 am
Poo. I've just got my new SD cards and put Arch on.
Came to this thread to go through the instructions and I've stumbled at the second hurdle.

typing pacman -Syu
it goes through core, extra, community. alarm, aur
then tells me I need to update pacman. Should we do it now? Choose Y
it does the dependencies
Proceed with installation? Y
three rows of 20/20 checking, loading, checking
then it bombs out with an error
error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
hwids: /usr/share/hwdata/pci.ids exists in filesystem
hwids: /usr/share/hwdata/usb.ids exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were installed. :cry:

So, should I carry on with my install and tell it No to upgrading Pacman? Or is that a bad idea?
Is there something else I have to fix first?
(Decided to press ahead anyway and reimage the SD card if it gets messed up). ;)
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by alexeames » Fri May 25, 2012 1:45 pm
I got through the compiles but the problems with pacman prevented me from installing xarchiver
which was not a problem because I put the files on a memory stick and gunzipped and untarred them manually.

The main problem I have now is that LDXE won't start up any more. I have to SSH in from another machine to shut down the Pi. Bumsies. I'll probably end up re-imaging sooner or later, but I may keep the compiled files just in case they work later on ;)

Still curious about the pacman issue. Anyone got any ideas how to get round that?
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by Casalor » Fri May 25, 2012 5:44 pm
alexeames wrote:Poo. I've just got my new SD cards and put Arch on.
Came to this thread to go through the instructions and I've stumbled at the second hurdle.

typing pacman -Syu
it goes through core, extra, community. alarm, aur
then tells me I need to update pacman. Should we do it now? Choose Y
it does the dependencies
Proceed with installation? Y
three rows of 20/20 checking, loading, checking
then it bombs out with an error
error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
hwids: /usr/share/hwdata/pci.ids exists in filesystem
hwids: /usr/share/hwdata/usb.ids exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were installed. :cry:


I'm getting this as well now (having just reflashed my SD card) although its worked before from the same image file (29-04).

Is this a common problem?

Edit: Hmm, bit the bullet and moved the two files pci.ids and usb.ids to a safe place and rebooted.

System booted up with no errors and I could issue 'pacman -Syu' without a problem.

So far, so good!
Last edited by Casalor on Fri May 25, 2012 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Nantwich, UK
by alexeames » Fri May 25, 2012 5:49 pm
Casalor wrote:Is this a common problem?


Well at least I know it isn't me, which is comforting, but doesn't get us anywhere with our FUSE intsallations. Fortunately I have Debian and OpenELEC SD cards to play with as well. Can let the Arch stew until the cavalry arrives. :lol:
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by alexeames » Fri May 25, 2012 6:19 pm
Casalor wrote:Edit: Hmm, bit the bullet and moved the two files pci.ids and usb.ids to a safe place and rebooted.

System booted up with no errors and I could issue 'pacman -Syu' without a problem.

So far, so good!


Excellent. Will try that on a fresh new ARCH install. :)
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by alexeames » Fri May 25, 2012 8:48 pm
I've got Fuse compiled and running on the Pi. Not installed any games yet though.
Two further issues I had apart from having to delete the above two files (thanks Casalor) before being able to do the pacman -Syu properly were:

1) cd /lib/modules/3.1.9-11+/kernel/sound/arm/
the 3.1.9-11 did not exist but 3.1.9-10 did, so I used that

2) pacman -S xarchiver wouldn't work at all (nor Xarchiver) error: target not found
reading around, I think it's been deprecated

But FUSE fires up and looks OK. Got to find and install some games next :)
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by alexeames » Fri May 25, 2012 9:49 pm
I've got Manic Miner working, but no sound as of yet. I'm still grinning though. Thanks to this thread and the OP. :D

I also came up with an easier way of getting the files onto the Pi. Midori won't download stuff from the worldofspectrum.org site (something to do with ftp?), but if you ssh into your pi from another computer you can unzip on the other computer and sftp the unzipped files straight onto your Pi :)
In that way you don't need to regret not having xarchiver or mess about with tar (mucky stuff). :lol:

I'm happy. Would like to get sound working, but the game is - well - just like it was when I bought my speccy nearly 30 years ago. Awesome.

Now all I need is a BBC micro emulator for chuckie egg and killer gorilla :evil:
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by khisanth » Tue May 29, 2012 9:21 pm
Okay I downloaded and installed libspectrum, but where do you get the fuse install from? The instructions mention it had been said previously, but it has not!

also it wanted spectrum-roms and an openbasic.

I downloaded fuse-emulator-common for debian and ran it but it doesn't create any fuse directory anywhere.

Need to be a bit more explicit in the instructions :)
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:49 pm
Location: Farnborough
by alexeames » Tue May 29, 2012 9:46 pm
khisanth wrote:Okay I downloaded and installed libspectrum, but where do you get the fuse install from? The instructions mention it had been said previously, but it has not!

also it wanted spectrum-roms and an openbasic.

I downloaded fuse-emulator-common for debian and ran it but it doesn't create any fuse directory anywhere.

Need to be a bit more explicit in the instructions :)


In section 3 Wait - We Need Source Code!

First it installs a browser
Code: Select all
pacman -S midori


You know the deal by now - let it install. When it completes, go to the bottom left menu again and run Midori from the Internet menu. It'll take a little while to open.


Then it tells you where to get the fuse emulator (Note the link in my quote won't work - you must click it from the original post).
Go to aur.archlinux.org/packa.....p?ID=10350 to get the fuse-emulator source. Save it by right-clicking on the "Tarball" link from the page. Just hit "Save As" for now and this will save the tarball in /root.


I think it was clear enough. Must have been. I managed it :lol:
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by lost84 » Tue May 29, 2012 9:50 pm
hi, trying to get fuse working on debian, I'm doing the 'make install' for fuse from the prompt, not in lxde.

I get a memory error, can anyone give me a hint? I'm new to unix really, the memory tricks mentioned above are for Arch, how do I do the same in debian?
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 9:45 pm
by lost84 » Wed May 30, 2012 7:43 pm
lost84 wrote:hi, trying to get fuse working on debian, I'm doing the 'make install' for fuse from the prompt, not in lxde.

I get a memory error, can anyone give me a hint? I'm new to unix really, the memory tricks mentioned above are for Arch, how do I do the same in debian?


...ok, figured it out now!
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 9:45 pm
by khisanth » Wed May 30, 2012 9:41 pm
Okay downloaded the tarball and extracted the fuse-emulator folder, edited PKGBUILD to put arm in. then trying ./configure and it says no such command. libspectrum seemed to install no probs!

what am I missing here?
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:49 pm
Location: Farnborough
by c@ptain » Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:15 pm
Offtopic:

the issue you guys had with the pacman install is fixed by doing:
Code: Select all
pacman -Syfu

no need to delete/move any files - brute force does work :D
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:51 am
by alexeames » Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:32 pm
c@ptain wrote:Offtopic:

the issue you guys had with the pacman install is fixed by doing:
Code: Select all
pacman -Syfu

no need to delete/move any files - brute force does work :D


Good to know - thanks :)
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by khisanth » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:16 am
pacman a debian or arch linux thing?
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:49 pm
Location: Farnborough
by alexeames » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:41 am
khisanth wrote:pacman a debian or arch linux thing?


Arch - think it stands for package manager
Alex Eames RasPi.TV HDMIPi.com RasP.iO
User avatar
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
by c@ptain » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:14 pm
Well... there's good and bad advice.
I'm afraid the one in my last post is of the latter sort. In my defense, I only found that information on some arch forum when I ran into the problem myself :D
Nevertheless, it seems that not everybody agrees, please find more information on how to deal with pacman issues more properly here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman

cheers
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:51 am
by khisanth » Mon Jun 04, 2012 1:16 pm
if someone could redo the Debian install instructions so that they are complete without referrring to other sources that would be great!
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:49 pm
Location: Farnborough
by mharizanov » Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:04 pm
khisanth wrote:Okay downloaded the tarball and extracted the fuse-emulator folder, edited PKGBUILD to put arm in. then trying ./configure and it says no such command. libspectrum seemed to install no probs!

what am I missing here?


try "sudo sh ./configure"
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 12:57 pm
by mharizanov » Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:34 am
Guys, I am fillowing the debian instructions and am almost there, except for a silly error that I can't get around: I get “error while loading shared libraries: libspectrum.so.8″ even though I did

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib

and I see the libspectrum.so.8 in /usr/local/lib

Any tip to get this working is appreciated
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 12:57 pm
by mharizanov » Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:38 am
ok got it working, i just did

sudo sh ./configure --prefix=/usr/local

and re-compiled the libspectrum

as suggested in a Russian forum and it worked (http://zx.pk.ru/archive/index.php/t-5740.html)

No Sound though..
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 12:57 pm
by khisanth » Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:40 pm
mharizanov wrote:
khisanth wrote:Okay downloaded the tarball and extracted the fuse-emulator folder, edited PKGBUILD to put arm in. then trying ./configure and it says no such command. libspectrum seemed to install no probs!

what am I missing here?


try "sudo sh ./configure"


Nope same issue!
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:49 pm
Location: Farnborough
by mharizanov » Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:46 am
can you check if you have a file named 'configure' in your fuse1.0.0.1a folder? it is ~500K in size. You need to run the sudo sh ./configure while you are inside the fuse folder
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 12:57 pm
by khisanth » Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:50 pm
I have a fuse-emulator folder and in there is:

add-zlib-include.patch
fuse-emulator.desktop
fuse-emulator.png
PKGBUILD


and thats it
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:49 pm
Location: Farnborough