STARTERS GUIDE for Raspberry Pi, A, B and B+


226 posts   Page 3 of 10   1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10
by Inventivepanzer » Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:08 pm
Done all as you said, but 3 things:

The test is slightly overlapping the edge of the screen, so I am missing a bit of the logo.
Everything is in black and white (logo)
It starts loading, but then i get the message: "panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(179.2)#
(Note: due to the screen overlap, there is a word before panic that I can't read.

If you could help, I would really appreciate it!
Thanks!

(PS:using RCA video output to an old (Colour) TV)
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:42 pm
by Dietmar » Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:45 pm
Hi all, today my Raspberry Pi arrives:-).
I am just writing this from Raspberry. I bought a Sandisk 16 GB class 10 card SDSDU-016G-U46.
There I put the image of Debian Wheezy on it with Winhex. Then I put this card in, connect USB mouse, USB tastatur, connect an HDMI cable and an USB micro cable with USB wall charger ISY IPH 2000 from Mediamarkt and Internetcable RJ45. Thats all.
This all lasts less than 15 min.
Now I make a try with Qemu and XP :-).
It is fast, but I miss the Flash-Player,
greetings from Germany,
Dietmar

PS: No sound..
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:43 pm
by CCitizenTO » Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:39 am
chulek wrote:My BlackBerry charger reads:

Input: 100-240V ~ 150mA 50-60Hz
10-20VA

Output: 5V-700mA

Can I use it with my RasPi? Also, what does 10-20VA mean?
I'm sorry to ask all this, but I'm a total beginner in this matters...


Focus on the Input and Output... Also VA sounds like it might have been VAC (AC Voltage) Or that it lists the high end below so it'd be like 100-110 VAC and 240-260 VAC...

In the end as long as the resulting output is 5V 700mA-1.2mA it should work perfectly fine. Even if your power supply took 10,000,000VAC and 5000A as long as it spit out 5v 700mA it'd work not that I reccomend people working with that much volts or amps ;) typical plug connections in North America are 100-110VAC and would supply 15 Amps assuming building code is being followed.
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 2:14 am
by MarcusHeap » Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:39 am
Hi,

Just ordered and paid for my RP-B and looking at SD Cards.

I was looking at 16gb or 32 gb but not sure what is best.

Does any brand work better with the Pi?

Regards,

Marcus
Regards,

Marcus Heap
marcus@marcusheap.com
www.marcusheap.com
www.iWich.com
User avatar
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: UK
by JeremyF » Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:23 am
MarcusHeap wrote:Hi,

Just ordered and paid for my RP-B and looking at SD Cards.

I was looking at 16gb or 32 gb but not sure what is best.

Does any brand work better with the Pi?

Regards,

Marcus

http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... g_SD_Cards
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by jrraines » Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:30 pm
The title of the topic seems appropriate although the discussion seems to revolve around other issues. I am trying to install the downloaded .img onto the SD card with my mac, following the instructions at http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup. It seems like the SD card is either not mounted or is 'busy':
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2 551Gi 331Gi 220Gi 61% /
devfs 188Ki 188Ki 0Bi 100% /dev
/dev/disk0s4 56Gi 16Gi 40Gi 29% /Volumes/leopard
/dev/disk0s5 88Gi 50Gi 38Gi 57% /Volumes/SnowLeop
map -hosts 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /net
map auto_home 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /home
localhost:/3tmDCdn5wEJ_8aimKsTmoZ 551Gi 551Gi 0Bi 100% /Volumes/MobileBackups
/dev/disk1s2 27Mi 16Mi 11Mi 60% /Volumes/Silverlight
then I insert the SD card and rerun df -h
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2 551Gi 336Gi 215Gi 62% /
devfs 190Ki 190Ki 0Bi 100% /dev
/dev/disk0s4 56Gi 16Gi 40Gi 29% /Volumes/leopard
/dev/disk0s5 88Gi 50Gi 38Gi 57% /Volumes/SnowLeop
map -hosts 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /net
map auto_home 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /home
localhost:/3tmDCdn5wEJ_8aimKsTmoZ 551Gi 551Gi 0Bi 100% /Volumes/MobileBackups
/dev/disk1s2 27Mi 16Mi 11Mi 60% /Volumes/Silverlight
/dev/disk2s1 15Gi 11Gi 4.1Gi 73% /Volumes/EOS_DIGITAL
so my SD card is mounting at /dev/disk2
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ sudo dd bs=1m if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/rdisk2
Password:
dd: /dev/rdisk2: Resource busy
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ sudo dd bs=1m if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/rdisk2
dd: /dev/rdisk2: Resource busy
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ diskutil eject /dev/rdisk2
Disk /dev/rdisk2 ejected
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ sudo dd bs=1m if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/rdisk2
dd: /dev/rdisk2: Operation not supported
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2 551Gi 332Gi 219Gi 61% /
devfs 186Ki 186Ki 0Bi 100% /dev
/dev/disk0s4 56Gi 16Gi 40Gi 29% /Volumes/leopard
/dev/disk0s5 88Gi 50Gi 38Gi 57% /Volumes/SnowLeop
map -hosts 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /net
map auto_home 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /home
localhost:/3tmDCdn5wEJ_8aimKsTmoZ 551Gi 551Gi 0Bi 100% /Volumes/MobileBackups
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:18 pm
by jrraines » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:56 pm
I looked at http://www.embeddedarm.com/support/faqs.php?item=10 and did this:
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *750.2 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Mc750-XT 591.9 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
4: Apple_HFS leopard 60.0 GB disk0s4
5: Apple_HFS SnowLeop 94.9 GB disk0s5
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *16.1 GB disk2
1: DOS_FAT_32 RASPI 16.1 GB disk2s1
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ diskutil unmountDisk /dev/disk2
Unmount of all volumes on disk2 was successful
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ dd if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/disk2
3808593+1 records in
3808593+1 records out
1950000000 bytes transferred in 2578.867473 secs (756146 bytes/sec)
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$

Haven't tried to boot it up yet but it looks like that copied files to the SD card.
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:18 pm
by joe wraith » Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:33 pm
Thanks. :D
User avatar
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:55 am
by narkshark » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:59 am
chulek wrote:...what does 10-20VA mean?...


VA probably stands for VoltAmps, or Volts times Amps. It is equivalent to Watts IF the power factor of the device is exactly 1. Since that is never the case with cheap electronic components, it is accurate to say VA instead of W.
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:52 am
Location: Canada
by andylh » Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:52 pm
Here are some ways to change the configuration if you are not in the UK.

First you will probably want to change your keyboard from the default UK one used on the provided Debian image. If you do not do this you will not have the | (pipe) key available on a US style keyboard which I find important. As well as other keys also being moved around from where you expect to find them.

You change this with:-

sudo dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration

you follow the screen prompts using the tab key to move around, space to select and enter to set. Look for the keyboard that suits you.

You may also want to change your time zone, here use this command line:-

sudo dpkg-reconfigure tzdata

Also for some other fine tuning:-

sudo dpkg-reconfigure console-setup

Hope this helps someone.

Andy

[now obsolete, as included in configuration menu, and included in text. moderator]
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:32 pm
by arm » Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:33 pm
be very careful when following the link "Win32DiskImager" on the download page. I clicked the download button on this link and had 5 or 6 unwanted programs installed on my computer. also closed down several open browser windows without asking. took me at least a half an hour removing the trash programs from my PC. I am disappointed that the raspberrypi org would recommend this type of link.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:59 pm
Location: london, uk.
by JeremyF » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:44 pm
arm wrote:be very careful when following the link "Win32DiskImager" on the download page. I clicked the download button on this link and had 5 or 6 unwanted programs installed on my computer. also closed down several open browser windows without asking. took me at least a half an hour removing the trash programs from my PC. I am disappointed that the raspberrypi org would recommend this type of link.

The download button you clicked on was part of a spam ad. Annoying, but not really a problem with Win32DiskImager. Just with softpedia really. I don't know why the downloads page doesn't just link to https://launchpad.net/win32-image-writer/0.5/0.5 . A much safer place... :)
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by Carla » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:53 pm
arm wrote:be very careful when following the link "Win32DiskImager" on the download page. I clicked the download button on this link and had 5 or 6 unwanted programs installed on my computer. also closed down several open browser windows without asking. took me at least a half an hour removing the trash programs from my PC. I am disappointed that the raspberrypi org would recommend this type of link.


Should be using this link: https://launchpad.net/win32-image-writer No ads, this is the developer's website.

When you do run this application, you MUST had Windows admin rights (does not prompt for admin password).

And it is very easy to use.
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:48 pm
by r4049zt » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:11 pm
I thought that a picture of a typical arrangement which works could help beginners.
Note the single usb to PS2 splitter cable allowing use of an old keyboard and mouse. The spare usb slot wrote to a usb memory stick and sometimes finds sd cards plugged into the external thing.

When working normally off an approved micro usb power supply, I could not find the +5V supply line but noticed 4.90 volts across component D17 near to the power supply.
Attachments
rpi0002.JPG
one working raspberry pi
rpi0002.JPG (48.05 KiB) Viewed 4508 times
User avatar
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:36 pm
by brgsousa » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:21 pm
Hi,
just plugging the power cable and HDMI to the tv... should anything be displayed on the tv at all?
no sd card, no keyboard. just power and HMDI cables.

thank you
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:17 pm
by abishur » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:32 am
brgsousa wrote:Hi,
just plugging the power cable and HDMI to the tv... should anything be displayed on the tv at all?
no sd card, no keyboard. just power and HMDI cables.

thank you


No without an SD card with a Raspberry Pi Image nothing will appear on the screen
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
by brgsousa » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:37 am
Thank you!!
At first, I thought an error BIOS message would show up.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:17 pm
by itimpi » Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:42 am
brgsousa wrote:Thank you!!
At first, I thought an error BIOS message would show up.

The Pi does not have a bios :)
Posts: 1035
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
by markflip » Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:20 pm
RE: Power supply issues:

I experienced a problem with a cheap microUSB lead not being able to cope with the current required, the power source was fine but stick to a good quality microUSB lead (like one supplied to recharge a smartphone) or you might experience problems [my ethernet/external drives wouldn't fire up using the cheap lead]
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:54 pm
by Montala » Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:38 pm
I agree, but cheap powered hubs can cause problems also, as despite an apparently higher rated output, they can not always deliver an acceptable level of 'power'.

I have one which is supposed to have a 3A output, but I still experience problems with repeated characters when typing, and rebooting whenever I plug in an additional USB device.

If you have access to a multimeter, then it is also a good idea to check the voltage across TP1 and TP2 to ensure that it is at least 4.8v. (See http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting#Troubleshooting_power_problems for details.)
User avatar
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)
by one_and_zero » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:28 pm
I'm an absolute beginner on the Raspberry pi, and I have set up my Raspberry Pi using a mac keyboard and a bog-standard corded usb mouse. I bought the Raspberry Pi OS from RS Components, and have plugged in successfully my power cable. My monitor however is VGA and so, I bought a HDMI to VGA Cable, and has yet to show login details etc on the screen. It would be great if someone could help me a bit, so I can get on to learning to code.Thankyou!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:22 pm
by Montala » Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:26 pm
one_and_zero wrote:I'm an absolute beginner on the Raspberry pi, and I have set up my Raspberry Pi using a mac keyboard and a bog-standard corded usb mouse. I bought the Raspberry Pi OS from RS Components, and have plugged in successfully my power cable. My monitor however is VGA and so, I bought a HDMI to VGA Cable, and has yet to show login details etc on the screen. It would be great if someone could help me a bit, so I can get on to learning to code.Thankyou!

I think you will need something more than just a simple HDMI to VGA cable, but more of an 'adapter, like the one shown at http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007KEIRNG

You will see from the reviews that some customers have used this successfully with a Raspberry Pi, and you can read more on this subject in the wiki at: http://elinux.org/RPi_Verified_Peripher ... rter_boxes

Hope this helps... and good luck!
User avatar
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)
by ED Nurse » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:37 am
This is my configuration:

Raspbian on a Sandisk 16Gb SDC
HDMI to a Samsung 32" TV,
USB keyboard and mouse,
Ethernet connected to Sky wireless box for internet access

all powered by a Blackberry PSU.
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:11 am
by Smelter » Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:39 am
Sharky wrote:'startx' to get LXDE started is a command easily missed for Newbies.


Newbie to Raspbian, silly question. At what stage is it safe to power down the PI?
'startx' gets you into the desktop, but do you have to return to the command line (I read somewhere you hit Ctrl-Alt-Backspace to get back). I am used to "closing down" a desktop before powering down, so I'm concerned that I make sure all the running programs and desktop are put to bed before power down.
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:33 pm
by tsh » Sat Aug 04, 2012 12:05 pm
I don't see a link to the instructions for using dd anywhere. If this is supposed to be a beginners guide, that seems like a major omission. Not everyone is a M$ slave...

http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup

[Now incorporated in starter guide. moderator]
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:09 am