Passive Heat Sink

11 posts
by MartinV » Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:46 pm
Hi,

I'm new to using a Raspberry Pi and I'm considering to put passive heat sinks on the chips, but I got a few questions about it:
1: Is it really needed ?
2: In which cases is it needed/recommended?
3: What chips should I put sinks on?
4: Are custom heat sinks for sale somewhere in the shop?

Friendly greetings

MartinV
by Mobius » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:34 am
I'm in the camp that says it's probably not needed for 99% of users. I'm overclocking at 1Ghz and the main chip is not even warm to the touch. If you do try it, the chip on the top side in the middle of the board is the one. Those stick on heat sinks that are used for computer memory are about the right size. I've used those on the chips in some of my routers.
by jamesh » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:20 am
I'm in the camp that says its not needed for 99.999% of users.
Volunteer at the Raspberry Pi Foundation, helper at Picademy September and October 2014.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
by mahjongg » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:49 am
Why so hesitant?
I'm in the camp that says its not needed for 100% of users. :mrgreen:
at least unless those users do something very odd to their PI that is. :lol:

And I define needed, as needed for a reasonable cause. :|
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
by milhouse » Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:48 am
I've got an overclocked 1GHz 512MB Pi (with 500Mhz Core, 600MHz SDRam, Core +4 overvolt, SDRam +2 overvolt) which, while running OpenELEC, has reached 83C in a case (normal ambient temperature for the UK at this time of year).

Just hammering the ARM at 1000MHz won't affect the temperature much (never more than 55C), but when the core/GPU gets going and in particular the H264 block, the temperature can rise pretty quickly.