HDMI to VGA


7 posts
by PESHuk » Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:09 am
Hi All,

I am currently trying to get my Raspberry Pi to run on my office monitor (Rather old one), I recently purchased a HDMI to VGA converter from Amazon, after setting up the Pi and turning on, my monitor receives a signal but displays nothing at all, just a blank screen! :(

I have seen a few forum post explaining to edit the config.txt, maybe I need to do this? I don't actually know, any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:33 am
by PESHuk » Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:12 am
Hey all,

No need to bother answering this thread now as I am going to buy myself a new monitor (The easy way out!) :lol:

Thanks
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:33 am
by Boeeerb » Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:56 am
If you ever do go back to using the convertor, all you need to do is pop the SD card back into your (windows?) machine and open the card from My Computer, and in the 60MB partition you'll see a txt file called config.txt, this is where you make any changes to your boot settings. The easiest way to get the convertor started is with the line
hdmi_safe=1
This starts the monitor with 640x480, once you have that then you'll use frame width buffer to set your resolution with overscan 0.
Save the config file and pop back into your RPi and it should display on your screen
Find me on Twitter - @Boeeerb
Website - http://www.boeeerb.co.uk
User avatar
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 2:40 am
by freedomotic » Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:42 pm
PESHuk wrote:Hi All,

I am currently trying to get my Raspberry Pi to run on my office monitor (Rather old one), I recently purchased a HDMI to VGA converter from Amazon, after setting up the Pi and turning on, my monitor receives a signal but displays nothing at all, just a blank screen! :(

I have seen a few forum post explaining to edit the config.txt, maybe I need to do this? I don't actually know, any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)


Hi,
what converter are you using? I'm searching a good one.
Thanks
Freedomotic Open Source Building Automation
http://freedomotic.com
User avatar
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Italy
by Mobius » Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:53 pm
freedomotic wrote:
PESHuk wrote:Hi All,

I am currently trying to get my Raspberry Pi to run on my office monitor (Rather old one), I recently purchased a HDMI to VGA converter from Amazon, after setting up the Pi and turning on, my monitor receives a signal but displays nothing at all, just a blank screen! :(

I have seen a few forum post explaining to edit the config.txt, maybe I need to do this? I don't actually know, any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)


Hi,
what converter are you using? I'm searching a good one.
Thanks


I'm using the one in the link below. You should be able to find a similar one from a dealer in Europe or China.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/380469625697?ss ... 1497.l2649
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:07 am
Location: San Angelo, Texas USA
by KarlB » Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:09 pm
Similar problem, solved it by plugging the Pi into a tv with the RCA first and then accessing the /boot/config.txt file and uncommenting (remove hash) just the hdmi_drive=2 and nothing else then save. Use the File Manger - Tools - Open Current Folder as Root for easy access and then use the Leafpad as a text editor. Now I can either plug it into my computer vga via a HDMI/VGA converter cable or straight into the HDMI screen. It picked up on the computer screen the second time I plugged it in after the change, probably due the screens auto adjust kicking in. It has run like this for a couple of months now, no problems.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:56 am
by PESHuk » Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:36 pm
I am using (or was using) a neewer HDMI to VGA cable from Amazon

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007 ... 00_s00_i00
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:33 am