No Sound


4 posts
by corbetta » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:22 am
Good morning all - Pi arrived yesterday, burned the Debian Squeeze image onto SD card, resized partition using Gparted Live CD, all booted up nicely thank you very much. Connected to Sony HDTV with HDMI lead - beautiful screen first time, so no probs there.

However - no audio going over the HDMI.

Now I'm new to Linux so I'm kind of assuming I might have to install some sound drivers? I tried the built in LXDE music player, which has a demo track, but when I click Play nothing happens, the track doesn't even 'play' let alone pushing out any sound. There appear to be no settings in the LXDE GUI to allow me to see any sound settings or volume control.

Any ideas/ Do I have to install any drivers or packages?

Cheers all.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:15 am
by dom » Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:01 am
I'd suggest you start with the newer Wheezy image which has ALSA drivers enabled by default:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/1435

Next read this:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... plications
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 3998
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by corbetta » Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:30 am
dom wrote:I'd suggest you start with the newer Wheezy image which has ALSA drivers enabled by default:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/1435

Next read this:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... plications


Thanks Dom - I'll give that a go. Will I be able to overwrite my existing Squeeze image with this new one, without wiping and reformatting the card, using the Win32DiskImager?
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:15 am
by itimpi » Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:13 am
corbetta wrote:
dom wrote:I'd suggest you start with the newer Wheezy image which has ALSA drivers enabled by default:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/1435

Next read this:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... plications


Thanks Dom - I'll give that a go. Will I be able to overwrite my existing Squeeze image with this new one, without wiping and reformatting the card, using the Win32DiskImager?

Yes. When your run win32diskimager then it overwrites whatever was already there.
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom