How can I transfer my Python files from PC to RPi?

7 posts
by kcranley » Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:01 pm
Forgive me if I am using the wrong part of the Forum, but I am a novice and have been busily typing in some Python programs to my PC (with Oracle VM Virtual Box, LXDE & Geany) before I got delivery of the Pi. Now that I have the little gem, I would like to easily transfer those Python files to the Pi. This would presumably be easiest done by accessing the SD card on the PC, so what commands etc would I need to type in? Please go gently as I need to be told PRECISELY what to do !! Thanks in advance. KC.
by stevep » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:40 pm
I did this, but I use a Mac. First I had to transfer the Python files from within the VirtualBox environment onto the Mac desktop (or any other convenient publicly shared location that suits you). Then I used Samba to transfer the files from the Mac to the Pi. I did this in the LXDE desktop gui, by opening the file manager window and typing smb://192.168.1.x/<your public folder> in the address bar. You will need to substitute your own ip address for the 192.168.1.x I have written, and type the real name of your publicly shared folder.
There is a guide for getting Samba running on the Pi here http://elinux.org/R-Pi_NAS (I have had trouble getting it to work using the Wheezy distribution, but it should work with Debian Squeeze).
Alternatively you could put them on a usb stick, and then learn how to mount the stick on the Pi - there are probably a few threads on here that to help you with the correct command and syntax to type.
by toxibunny » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:53 pm
email them to yourself

access them on pi

job done.
note: I may or may not know what I'm talking about...
by bredman » Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:07 pm
If your virtual machine has internet access, you could copy the files to a network drive such as Dropbox or Sky Drive.
by nadir » Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:26 pm