Request for DSP documentation

14 posts
by mikedad » Fri Aug 24, 2012 12:09 am
According to the hardware entry in the wiki http://elinux.org/RPi_Hardware (under the components section) there is a DSP on the BCM2835 SOC. It would be fantastic if Broadcom would make available the docs for this DSP. As a professional DSP programmer, I would love to see what its capabilities are, and I would guess that there are a bunch of interesting projects that could come from the community. My son and I have been having a lot of fun with our PI, and have a few audio projects in mind that would benefit greatly from a DSP.

If there is enough interest from the community, is there a chance that Broadcom would make these docs publicly available?
by liz » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:28 am
We're working on it. That's all I can say at the moment. :)
Foundation
Foundation
by andyroyal » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:46 am
Interesting... I hadn't noticed that the chip has a DSP in it until you pointed it out. Now I'm getting flashbacks to college, noise reduction projects, z-domain filtering, etc. etc...

I wonder if something like ALSA could take advantage of that?
by jamesh » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:23 pm
The GPU actually has quite a few cores in it for various things - Vector/scaler core for general compute, various 'Quad' processors for 3D work (nasty things to program), plus many HW blocks for differing functions (Camera ISP, video Encode/decode etc). At the moment, no docs for the GPU are publicly available.
by dom » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:35 pm
andyroyal wrote:I wonder if something like ALSA could take advantage of that?

It does a little. The ALSA driver advertises it can handle all sample rates. HDMI may only handle 48kHz. The GPU will handle the resampling.
by andyroyal » Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:01 pm
jamesh wrote:Vector/scaler core for general compute
Is that typo, where you should have said "scalar", or does the core contain processing units specifically designed to do scaling?