Point me to the starting line

Drop in for a chat and a cup of tea

11 posts
by Stef Goff » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:27 am
I am a teacher and head of dept for ICT in a UK school. I am entirely self taught on computers but my skills revolve around what is now ICT i.e. MS Office, Adobe CS5 products like flash, dreamweaver, fireworks, paint shop pro and a few freebies like audacity, scratch, google sketch up.

I am very interested in learning more about programming and incorporating it into the curriculum and this device looks to me like something that would appeal to my students. My problem is that I don't even really know what I'm looking at. Where do I start?

I like the sound of something I saw in somebody else's post about some sort of gaming stuff. I have taught basic games with scratch and back in the day when I first blagged my way into ICT teaching from my business and maths background, we used to teach Klik'n'Play and RPG Maker 2000. My last programming effort I remember was when I had to type in the code for the games I wanted to play on our family computer the TRS-80. Does anyone know how steep the learning curve will be?

I am very sympathetic to the idea of getting genuine computing back into schools alongside ICT not as an either or thing. They are very different subjects and each has its place. I have consistently run into a wall when trying to convince any of the schools I have worked at to offer Computing at A level and it is largely due to the fact that nationally these subjects are difficult to obtain high grades in.

I think a device that gets students interested in computing from a young age is exactly the sort of thing we need to create the demand for the subject from the students themselves. I think that is probably the best chance we have to get computing back into the mainstream and I applaud the efforts of your organisation in helping to achieve this.