Teaching Real-time Systems

Drop in for a chat and a cup of tea

15 posts
by tigger908 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:22 am
Hi All,

I'm a lecturer currently teaching amongst other things an introductory module on real-time systems. Could anyone tell me if/how I could use the RasberryPi in this? I wondered if MuCos2 or similar would be an option?

Regards,

T.
by Davespice » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:12 pm
I don't see why not... I've seen less powerful machines used in real-time systems.

I wonder if you could connect the serial output of a private telephone exchange PBX via an RS232 to USB adapter and write something in python to react to it. Maybe a simple program which shows who is on the phone or not? You would probably have to do a lot of string matching and parsing, might be a good way to teach them RegEx though.

Is that the kind of thing you were thinking of?
Foundation
Foundation
by dpawson » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:05 pm
1. Think about your realtime needs? Microsecond response? Human response times? Something in between?
2. Choose your OS to match your answer to 1.

3. After that rpi should be perfect. Fast response, assembler level tools free, good enough IO for teaching purposes.

Ideal IMHO

Dave
by Hugh Reynolds » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:47 pm
The only thing missing is a clearly defined method of getting an interrupt into the system. If you don't need interrupts it is not a reattime system IMHO.

It may have been here on the forum that I read that all GPIOs can generate interrupts but as we have so little info on the GPIO, I2C, SPI and UART interfaces that's difficult to be sure about. All will become clear in the near future.

I would have thought that you could use any of Debian, Fedora et al as your OS. Not necessary to work with ?C/OS-II or any of the other kernels out there and difficult unless they release a support package for the RPi